4 Comments

1. My solitude, which generates somatic joy. Like, things get quiet enough that I can smell the air and sense the roots of my hair. My husband was working from home for months, and I missed being alone. My parenting feels solid. Even when things are hard, I'm unsurprised.

2. I worry about the slow growth of my business. Feel a lot of uncertainty and seek validation. My jaw hurts. My son just told me that he's starting a cult. Which could be okay I guess?

3. I wish my mom had more financial stability and fewer emotional hooks in me. I wish we had money to travel as a family before it is too late. I wish my husband's health was better. I wish more people would come to yoga.

Expand full comment
author
May 11, 2023·edited May 11, 2023Author

1. Ummm, the garden? Does that count?

There's a lot going well, really. Parenting specific - I have the most delicious conversations with my nine year old. I love his insight, his humor (he laughs at my jokes), and his understanding and astuteness of other people. Dang.

2. My health.

And parenting-wise, I have developed a very strong aversion to lots of noise and multiple people talking to me at once and to being interrupted when I am doing anything. It's super hard. I am wearing my ear defenders A LOT.

3. *Cynical chuckle*

I want more. More time, more patience, more love, more lovingness, more presence (as I sit here writing while son is in the room).

And I want to be able to trust, in a lot of things.

Expand full comment