Circle of Support


I believe that this work (my writing) is important and valuable and I want it to be available to everyone, no matter their income for as long as I am alive. Because of this I am unwilling to do paid subscriptions that offer extra.

And I have cancer with a poor prognosis. That is, in January 2021 I was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer. (60% alive at two years, which drops to 12% at 5 years.) Chadwick Boseman, Black Panther, died of colon cancer. Ibram X. Kendi, How to be An Antiracist, is still alive and has hit some important No Evidence of Disease (NED) milestones. His cancer didn’t come back after surgery and chemo. Mine has.

Cancer is damn expensive. I think the reason I am still alive is because I’ve had the resources to add integrative pathways to my chemo regimen.

I would never be able to support myself and my cancer treatment through paid subscriptions of this newsletter. And every little helps.

While also considering that I am unwilling to offer extra for paid subscriptions, the middle ground I, and many readers, have found is a Circle of Support. For me, this is about a flow of resources, rather than an exchange. You help me live a few days/weeks/months longer, I write a few more helpful pieces that can help anyone who needs it. Our children are an acupuncture point to a more welcoming, understanding society where everyone matters.

If you, too, believe my work is important, and things are especially cushy for you, please consider a paid subscription. It will support me to live longer, one non-covered cancer treatment, one copay, one out-of-pocket expense, one box of supplements at a time, one hotel bill, one tank of gas to treatment at a time.

And, and, and…I want you to feel full freedom to say, this isn’t in my capacity/willingness/sense of sustainability right now. There’s a freedom in being able to say no with full choice and light.